Cookies are used on YouTube to track a variety of user activity, including search histories and user behaviour. While this makes for a better and faster user experience and enables YouTube to recommend videos based on your taste, a YouTube history is a private asset you won’t want to share with third parties or Google. You can delete your history anytime by going to your account settings and clicking the “Clear History” button. When you search YouTube while logged in to your account, the search phrase you used will be saved in the search history associated with your account. You can delete the information from your YouTube history at any time if you do not want it to be saved. This article will walk you through deleting your search history from YouTube. So let’s get started:
How to Clear Your Search History on YouTube
From Mobile App:
If you want to remove your search history on YouTube using the YouTube app for iOS or Android, follow the procedures provided here.
- Launch the YouTube app on your device and sign in to your account to start using the service.
- To access your account profile on an iOS device, tap the symbol in the display’s top-right corner. To access the menu on an Android device, select the icon that looks like it has three vertical dots.
- Click the Settings tab that appears after this one.
- Under the History & privacy heading on the next tab, either scroll down to the section or pick the Clear search history option.
- You will see a pop-up that will ask you if you are certain that you want to clear out your search history. To dismiss it, click the OK button.
In order to remove your web browser’s search history for YouTube, follow the instructions provided here.
- You can access your account by logging in at YouTube.com.
- The History option can be found in the left-hand menu pane.
- Choose Search History from the drop-down menu in the right-hand pane’s History type section.
- Click the button labeled Clear All Search History.
Read More: How to do Livestream on YouTube
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Can anyone see deleted history on YouTube?
If you delete the history on YouTube, it will no longer be displayed on the YouTube app or your YouTube account after you have completed the deletion. But it will continue to be displayed on the Google Activity page.
Is search history really deleted?
Your web browser’s history is saved on your computer in the same format as other files, just like everything else (or a collection of files). When you delete the history stored in your browser, these files are removed from your hard drive.
Who can see my browsing history?
The unfortunate reality is that anyone can look through the history of your browser and your search history. On many websites, cookies are used to track your activity and provide product recommendations based on your previous search terms. Governments can monitor you if you do actions that draw their attention.